The Voice UK 4: Battles (2)

The Voice UK 4 - Battles

Look at that, this is how fast this franchise is. Haha. And what I love about it is that there are no montages, I mean last week we saw all 12 battles and now this week, we will witness the other half.

At the end of the episode, all slots are filled – including the 2 (meh) steals – of each coaches and we head on to the Knockouts Round.

This episode is a little indifferent for me. The ridiculous use of steals by the coaches (seriously?), their questionable winners of the respective battles (at least for some) and well I liked most of the song choices in the battles.

Anyway, here is how night 2 of the battles transpire.

TEAM WILL

Jake Shakeshaft (vs) Stephen Cornwell
Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall

– I thought the song choice was smart as it will be an absolute challenge for both artists. Their vocals were both flawed. Jake is mostly sharp while Stephen is mistiming most of his notes. But I was actually surprised with Will’s choice in the end. I feel like Stephen had more control here. His pitch sounded better and he commanded the stage with more ease than Jake. 6.5

RESULTS
WINNER: Jake Shakeshaft
NO STEAL

– –
Sheena McHugh (vs) Hollie Barrie
Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves

– This was pretty even for me. Hollie just tends to be more shouty towards the end but both actually deliver something decent. 6

RESULTS
WINNER: Sheena McHugh
NO STEAL

– –
Esmee Denters (vs) Andrew Marc
Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic

– Poor Andrew. I knew from the moment he got in with that terrible blind audition, he will be the cannon fodder for a more preferrable artist. Nothing to take away from Esmee as she sounds really good here but the off pitch and ridiculously off timing of Andrew is just beyond unbelievable. 5

RESULTS
WINNER: Esmee Denters
NO STEAL

* * *
TEAM RITA

Liss Jones (vs) Vanessa Hunt
Straight Up

– Liss had more control and the texture on her voice is just distinctive to ignore. This was an even battle to be honest even in the end when both of them decided to shout each and every note. Haha. But I give the edge on Liss just because of the quality of her tone. 6

RESULTS
WINNER: Liss Jones
NO STEAL

– –
The Mac Bros (vs) DTwinz
Maps

– Look, I know Rita envisions DTwinz in a more versatile kind of performance and they had quite moments in this battle but I was really buffled as to why no one stole The Mac Bros nor why Rita didn’t choose them. I thought they sounded better here. Their pitch – not perfect – but quality. Their timing and harmonies were more tight. So… whyyy? 7

RESULTS
WINNER: DTwinz
NO STEAL

– –
Karis Thomas (vs) NK
Don’t Speak

– Poor NK, he can’t find the right tune and pitch all throughout the battle. That was painful. Karis had the upper hand here despite having some pitch problems, at least she was able to hit better notes and the grit on her tone is simply workable. 5

RESULTS
WINNER: Karis Thomas
NO STEAL

* * *
TEAM TOM

Daniel Duke (vs) Cai Williams
Am I Wrong

– Lol. Daniel was trying to connect with Cai but Cai had his own world, I think. Look, this is clearly Daniel’s kind of performance and I don’t really think Cai could do anything about it. Not to mention, he sounded really flat in his parts, Cai is more of a personality on stage and I can’t picture him as a serious contender during the whole battle. Sorry. Plus, I really think he is just a cannon fodder. 5

RESULTS
WINNER: Daniel Duke
NO STEAL

– –
Sasha Simone (vs) Lisa Ward
The Tracks Of My Fears

– Sasha had more stage presence and her pitch is more tight and on point than Lisa. But there are parts where I thought this was even and decent. A lot of off pitch moments too. 5.5

RESULTS
WINNER: Sasha Simone
NO STEAL

– –
Lara Lee (vs) Kim Alvord
My Kind Of Love

– Hmm. Again this was almost even but I thought Kim delivered a better, more polished performance than Lara. Also, I liked Kim’s pitch more. There is something compelling about it that I can’t really pin point but I just love listening to. 6

RESULTS
WINNER: Lara Lee
NO STEAL

* * *
TEAM RICKY

Vikesh Champaneri (vs) Letitia George
Under Pressure

– I loved the song choice but hated the results. It was the right call for Ricky but a totally wasted steal. Stage presence wise, Letitia owned this battle. She got more grooved, she sang the song quite nice even if there are pitch issues and it looked like she was really having fun. On the other hand, Vikesh looked awkward, tensed and seems to be unsure. Not to mention, he find it hard to sing on pitch which is frustrating for me as we are seeing a completely polar opposite kind of delivery. 5.5

RESULTS
WINNER: Letitia George
STEAL – Vikesh Champaneri (Team Will)

– –
Autumn Sharif (vs) Hannah Wildes
If I Ain’t Got You

– This was an even battle. I thought both sounded really great. A couple of potch issues and screaming issues but the vocal choices were really nice and strong. Lovely! 7

RESULTS
WINNER: Autumn Sharif
STEAL – Hannah Wildes (Team Rita)

– –
Classical Reflection (vs) Emmanuel Nwamadi
The Living Years

– Eh? Right call for Ricky! Classical Reflection looked terrified. They were also so dull on stage and seems so unsure. Emmanuel, though had some rough spots here and there, held his own (easily!). 5

RESULTS
WINNER: Emmanuel Nwamadi
NO STEAL

Leave a Reply

