The Voice UK 4: Live Finals & Winner Announced

It is the last week of the voice UK season 4. It’s the climax and the concluding ceremony to be specific. I just didn’t think that the short time of voting actually reflects who the public wants as the winner. Although, I predicted the right one and I personally think he deserves the crown — no contest at all and the live finals performances showed how the winner is simply the frontrunner all along.

By the way, originala and former coach Danny is back with his band, The Script, for a special performance of their newest single. Also, we had performances from Rita Ora, Paloma Faith and Charles Hamilton.

Without further here how I ranked the performances per round and what were the results. Enjoy!

ROUND 1: SOLO

4. Lucy O’Byrne
No Surprises
Team WILL

– And she lived up to the song title of her performance.. No surprises here. Same old, same old. 4

3. Emmanuel Nwamadi
Somebody That I Used To Know
Team RICKY

– I am not sure if it really worked. His voice cracked most of the times. The vocals were not as strong as I wished it was. Halfway, I felt bored and sleepy. 5

2. Sasha Simone
What I Did For Love
Team TOM

– Her vocals were not that strong enough to actually pull this off. It is unfortunate because Sasha was consistent for two to three weeks already but in here, it just fell flat. The vocal support was terrible. The phrasing is muddled. The whole thing, on paper, could have been a home run but somehow she missed the mark. 6

1. Stevie McCrorie
I’ll Stand By You
Team RICKY

– Stevie brought his A-game tonight. His vocals here – not perfect – but sounded really solid. The tone in his voice worked and the vocal choices were beautiful. A little shouty in the end but I didn’t mind as I thought he managed to put something decently fantastic here. 7.5

ROUND 2: DUETS

4. Lucy O’Byrne & Will.I.Am
Habanera
Team WILL

– The rap inflections by Will actually put a different texture in this predictable performance of Lucy. But other than that, this is nothing really groundbreaking. 4.5

3. Sasha Simone & Tom Jones
Chain Of Fools
Team TOM

– The first half sucked the life out of the performance. I swear, it was like the stage presence was off in that sequence and the energy is out of the window. Sasha pulled a last minute soaring vocals towards the end but I didn’t think the late-letting go managed to save the almost boring performance. 5

2. Emmanuel Nwamadi & Ricky Wilson
Crazy
Team RICKY

– Emmanuel moved, a little! Haha. This is so-so. 6

1. Stevie McCrorie & Ricky Wilson
Get Back
Team RICKY

– Vocally, this is okay. I thought the band quite drowned them in the background but both served a decent to average vocal performance. 7

ELIMINATED:
Sasha Simone (Team Tom)
Emmanuel Nwamadi (Team Ricky)

ROUND 3: REPRISE

Lucy O’Byrne
Ebben Ne Andro Lontana
Team WILL

– Meh. This is not just my cup of tea, really. Plus, it was so predictable, I was right.. this is nothing I have ever heard nor seen before from her. 4

Stevie McCrorie
All I Want
Team RICKY

– To be honest, Stevie didn’t match the beauty and magic he created when he did it during the Blinds but this is still a pretty solid vocal performance and there is a humbling confidence in his delivery that I thought is remarkable. 8

ROUND 4: WINNER’S SINGLE

Lucy O’Byrne
Lost Stars
Team WILL

– And she turned this gorgeous Adam Levine song into opera. I cried because it didn’t really worked. Sorry. But I thought that was a meas. 3

Stevie McCrorie
Lost Stars
Team RICKY

– It was too fast for me that I thought the meaning and essence of the track literally is lost. Haha. But then I guess they tried to matched it on Stevie’s style. While his vocals were really not perfect especially during the time when he tried to hit those falsettos, but this is quite fine. 7

RESULTS:

STEVIE McCRORIE wins The Voice UK Season 4!

Leave a Reply

