X Factor UK 12: Finale

X Factor UK 12 - TOP 13

We’re down to three and then two will battle it out on who wins this season’s X Factor UK! I must admit, even if the crop of talent is really good this season, there is something lacking on the overall projection of it that I could really narrow down to probably 3 reasons: 1) the themes and song choices were tired and uninspired. 2) it seems like the season was on a rush 3) just give the crown to the chosen one – Louisa Johnson! The pimping is real.

Anyway here is how the Top 3 went on and then an elimination at the end of the night before the Top 2 battle it out on the next night.

OPENING SONG

3. CHE CHESTERMAN
In The Air Tonight
[BOYS]

– Nothing really bad in this performance but it was nothing really new from Che. It was what is expected from him – competitive vocals, dated arrangement. 6

2. REGGIE ‘N’ BOLLIE
Jump
[GROUPS]

– RNB isn’t the best singers on this season but like what I have been saying this whole season too, they bring fun & entertainment. They have an innate charisma that could and if some label will risk on them be their ticket on potential pop stardom even if it is just in UK. Did you hear how the crowd went crazy on them? 7

1. LOUISA JOHNSON
Fighter
[GIRLS]

– So are they packaging her ala Christina Aguilera? Pop star with fantastic range to do terrific big diva ballads? Anyway, this is okay for me. Not spectacular but not that bad too. Vocally fine, a bit over the top, but I am pleased. 7.5

SOLO

3. CHE CHESTERMAN
Valerie
[BOYS]

– He’s been covering Amy Winehouse this season no? Again, the vocals were decent but nothing spectacular, new or exciting from Che here. 6

2. LOUISA JOHNSON
I Believe I Can Fly
[GIRLS]

– I hate the song choice with a passion but like what is expected from Louisa, she delivered. A little too much in parts but I digress. 7

1. REGGIE ‘N’ BOLLIE
Boom! Mash-Up
[GROUPS]

– Well look at that. I never expected this but they did topped my rankings tonight as I genuinely enjoyed every bit of them during this performance. It was easy, fun, entertaining and charismatic. 7.5

ELIMINATED:
Che Chesterman

— –
REPRISE

2. REGGIE ‘N’ BOLLIE
What Makes You Beautiful/Cheerleader/I Like To Move It
[GROUP]

– Well they brought it up a notch with the inclusion of “I Like To Move It” but it was a bit disconnected for me. It still though provided the same energy and fun they have set before but I felt a bit disconnected. Really. 7

1. LOUISA JOHNSON
It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World
[GIRLS]

– Color me surprised! If I criticize her firt performance of this just last week, I thought she delivered better tonight! It was passionate, solid and vocally superb. Great job! 8.5

ORIGINAL SONG

2. REGGIE ‘N’ BOLLIE
Forever Young
[GROUPS]

– You will know who the producers wanted to win when they set a similar original song for the finalist to perform and it is more on the nose of their chosen one than the other. RNB are not the best singers so why give something like this to them? 3

1. LOUISA JOHNSON
Forever Young
[GIRLS]

– Game Over. If she doesn’t win, I guess all the pimping and the efforts of the production in giving her shining moments are wasted. 7.5

WINNER:
Louisa Johnson

Leave a Reply

