The Voice UK 5: Knockouts (#TeamPaloma)

Finally. While I don’t necessarily agree with some of Paloma’s choices this season, I thought her team gave their very best tonight and some delivered really good and some surprised me on how well they did.

As for Paloma’s decisions? I will leave it to her as it was her team after all.

Now let us rank her team.

8. DEANO BOROCZKY
Georgia On My Mind

– I was kinda disappointed on how Deano attacked this performance. I thought, initially, this was a perfect song choice from him but somehow something happened and I was left cold. Deano has been consistent this season prior to this and his delivery of Georgia on my mind is lackluster, cold and flat. 6

7. BETH MORRIS
Jumpin’ Jack Flash

– Her stage presence is undeniably solid and Beth knows how to entertain her audience. But this felt like a decent throwaway performance from her. 6.5

6. DWAINE HAYDEN
Knocks Me Off My Feet

– The lovely vocals were a compelling touch that I thought Dwaine delivered pretty well. A little safe but I thought it sounded good. 7

5. AARON HILL
Goin’ Up Yonder

– Woah! Where did this come from? Aside from the not-so-muddled phrasing, Aaron brought soul and power to the church! It was powerful, well connected and vocally solid. 7

4. HEATHER CAMERON-HAYES
Holding Out On A Hero

– The arrangement isn’t something new as I heard cover of such a lot of times before but there is something interestingly solid on how she phrased and delivered this song. A little haunting, there’s enough power and I am intrigued. 7

3. RICK SNOWDON
Watch Over You

– Solid vocals and fantastic stage presence. 7.5

2. FAITH NELSON
Runnin’ (Lose It All)

– Okay now missy! Faith just proved to me that she can deliver dynamics. Sure, she got too shouty towards the end but I digress. This is gorgeous and powerful with enough nuanced verses that provided dynamics on this performance. 7.5

1. JORDAN GRAY
Real Gone Kid

– He was just growing so good on this competition. Jordan just knows how to touch those heartstrings and how well he connected with his material is just compelling. Vocally, it wasn’t perfect but it was strong. 8

PALOMA’S TOP 3:
Jordan Gray
Heather Cameron-Hayes
Beth Morris

Leave a Reply

