American Idol 15: Top 5

American Idol 15 Final 10

I am torn in this episode as I thought round 1 was just an appetizer for the superb main course that is round 2. Everyone is so emotional, I don’t know of it was because of the performances or because Idol is ending in a matter of weeks!

Nonetheless, did we see that elimination coming? Scott must be squirming in his seat during that decision by the judges. Haha.

Anyway here is a round by round ranking I did.

ELIMINATED

TRISTAN MCINTOSH
Independence Day

– This is like right on Tristan’s alley and her coming back to the piano and how well connected she was with the lyrics is the perfect recipe for a break out moment. But unfortunately, her pitch is off in most parts and some parts sounded really flat. 5.5

ROUND 1

5. TRENT HARMON
Counting Stars

– Oh God! I know Trent needed to turn things up a big so that his performances will not be one of the same but this was just an aweful case of trying something that isn’t really on his wheelhouse. If maybe he went on an acoustic take on this, then I think that will work but this was just really bad. 4

4. DALTON RAPATTONI
Numb

– I didn’t like the arrangement and Dalton’s vocals were just weak in here. The verses sounded breathy, his pitch was all over the place and the overall impact was just blah. 4.5

3. MACKENZIE BOURG
Wild World

– Am I the only who didn’t really like this? I find Mackenzie’s pitch quite off her and the performance was just too throwaway. His delivery is sleepy and there is weakness on how he handles his vocals in the verses that I find grating. 5

2. SONIKA VAID
Let It Go

– Yes, this wasn’t nowhere near perfecf but I must admit that there are parts in here that was really beautiful. The pitch was fine, her high register was terrific. Only one thing though: She needed to connect with her material! 7

1. LA’PORSHA RENAE
Ready For Love

– It was a nuanced performance for me. It breathes terrific pitch quality and La’Porsha’s delivery is just magnificent. Her control was superb and the song choice was something I thought will not totally work but it did! 8

ROUND 2

5. SONIKA VAID
Clarity

– Yikes! Her pitch was sometimes off and the performance when she strive on the more uptempo part of it made her disconnected and all over the place. I wish she took the piano version of this by Foxes and that will be a breakout moment from her, I think! 5

4. DALTON RAPATTONI
The Sound Of Silence

– I am not sure about this. At one point I find it a bit theatrical in terms of his choices but a part of me was impressed as well. The vocals could’ve been stronger but what do I know. 6

3. TRENT HARMON
Simple Man

– Gorgeous! It was beautifully sang, a nuanced performance and Trent’s ability to control and let go effortlessly with the liberties he took with the song is simply outstanding! 8

2. MACKENZIE BOURG
Billie Jean

– I will say this: David Cook’s cover of the song is still the best one in any reality singing competition to date. But that is not to take away anything from this cover from Mackenzie as I thought it was smart, brave, cool and *drumroll please* riveting! I thought his vocals were solid. The take works on his strengths and the overall was simply astonishing! 8.5

1. LA’PORSHA RENAE
No More Drama

– Intense, powerful, amazing. Period. 9

Leave a Reply

