American Idol 15: Top 4

American Idol 15 Final 10

I am in denial! I can’t believe it will be just two weeks left and American Idol is over. Forever. Huhu.

And we’re down the stretch and the Top 4 were revealed. Two young heartthrobs, 1 consistent front runner diva and an emerging dark horse delivering his best night yet?

It was an interesting night from American Idol season 15 with Sia and Steven Van Zandt serving as the mentors for tonight. They were awesome and great as they were able to help and push these kids so well that most of them delivered quite well tonight. Oh also, it’s a bittersweet elimination for Sonika Vaid. She wasn’t even allowed to sing. Yikes!

Now on to the show.

ROUND 1: CLASSIC ROCK

4. MACKENZIE BOURG
I Want You To Want Me

– Yikes. Weak vocals, lazy performance. This just didn’t go anywhere at all and the bland performance just didn’t do anything on Mackenzie. I feel like he is being one trick wonder and his voice is too limited. 5

3. DALTON RAPATTONI
God Only Knows

– Oh Dalton. I thought it was a decent effort with enough emotions – though I wanted a more raw ones – in it. The texture of his voice was nice touch. The vocals were not perfect. This is okay. 6

2. LA’PORSHA RENAE
Wanted Dead Or Alive

– While I question the song choice, I never really question how well La’Porsha sang this. It was well done but then again, I have heard her do it like this. My point: I wish I will hear something more controlled and quiet from La’Porsha the next time. 7

1. TRENT HARMON
Sharp Dressed Man

– Smart, brilliant, stunning! Trent kept the integrity of the original in this performance with so much respect and at the same time infusing his style and take on it with so much gusto and passion. In the end, Trent just delivered one of the most astonishing performance of the season. 9

ROUND 2: SIA’S SONGBOOK

4. DALTON RAPATTONI
Bird Set Free

– I was about to get sold by this but then it was bordering to theatrics that I never really totally enjoy his performance. The vocals were not perfect but parts of it were interesting enough. 6

3. MACKENZIE BOURG
Titanium

– Yikes! His vocals were weak that somehow the backtrack drowns it naturally. There are parts that sounded decent but for most, I find the breathy quality quite odd. 6

2. LA’PORSHA RENAE
Elastic Heart

– On paper, I think the Sia Songbook will be a piece of cake for La’Porsha but I was left underwhelmed. Her performance sounded like I’ve heard from her before. It was good but I expected more or something exciting. 7.5

1. TRENT HARMON
Chandelier

– It was an exquisite vocal performance from Trent. From the liberties he took to the delicate, soft and controlled quality of delivery of the song that is just beautiful. He phrased the song wonderfully and the gorgeous nuanced vocal dynamics are just stunning! For whatever reason, Trent just showed two brilliant performances that were a contrast yet put him at the top of the pack! Great job! 9.5

Leave a Reply

