American Idol 15: Top 3

American Idol 15 Final 10

It’s just surreal how things are so fast happening we are now down to three and down to the second to the last episode of American Idol. Oh my God, my tears.

Tonight, the remaining idols delivered good to stunning performances. They were – in the words of Randy Jackson – in it, to win it!

Now let me rank the top 3 per rounds and then collect my emotional self in preparation for next week series finale. Oh, did you hear that crack of almost tearful Ryan Seacrest in the end? I could feel him.

On to the night.

ELIMINATED:

MACKENZIE BOURG
Hallelujah

– Mackenzie sounded gorgeous here and he is at some point more connected than usual. Sure, I still find how he ends his note with an almost whispery-sigh like that is jarring for me but I digress. At least he ended his season with a good performance. 7

— –

ROUND 1: HOMETOWN DEDICATION

3. DANIEL RAPATTONI
Calling You

– I am not sure if the song choice did anything for Dalton. I thought his stage presence is too calculated more so his vocals were weak at its best. 6

2. TRENT HARMON
Tennessee Whiskey

Tennessee Whiskey is an interesting choice from Trent and sure it gave us another glimpse of his other side away from R&B and soul. Trent can sing the phonebook and his take on Tennessee Whiskey is delicious, solid and beautiful. I would love some grit and texture but I am satisfied. 8

1. LA’PORSHA RENAE
Glory

– Glorious! She slayed this song like it was written for her. It was vocally powerful, consistent and simply strong! 8.5

ROUND 2: SCOTT’S CHOICE

3. LA’PORSHA RENAE
Stay With Me

– Hm. You see when principles and showmanship buttheads, some artist makes standing up for what you believe in, a difficult thing even if they just need to tell story. And this is a struggle I find confusing with La’Porsha. I respect her wholeheartedly and I am with her story but this is a song where she just needs to relay and tell a story. It doesn’t matter if she can relate to it or not, I believe that a great artist can tell a story for whatever reason. I mean, she wanted to be a cowboy last week and insisted on singing such song (for me) that has no sense. But she made me believe to it. So yeah. This felt more like she threw away an opportunity to slay of which she always does. This was vocally decent but not committed. 7

2. DALTON RAPATTONI
Dancing In The Dark

– I am surprised. This is probably Dalton’s best work since the live shows has began. It was rapid, fresh and vocally good. His stage presence is full of charisma and he just lets go. Everything felt natural. 8

1. TRENT HARMON
Drink You Away

– Do I think it was strong? Probably. Do I think it was the right song choice? Yes. But I think the arrangement didn’t allow Trent to work over the melody more and so the performance was just plain good! But on this round, he still won it for me as I enjoyed most part of it. 8

ROUND 3: JUDGES’ CHOICE

3. DALTON RAPATTONI
Everybody Wants To Rule The World

– Yikes. Back on his calculated movements and weak vocals, Dalton ended the night in a low note and his vocals got poorly drowned by the band, it was a pretty bad last impression. If he makes it to the finale, he indeed has a solid fan base of screaming teens! 5

2. LA’PORSHA RENAE
Hello

– While I thought the song choice wanted to make her feel more current, I find some of her melodic choices a bit jarring. Her liberties were a big inconsistent and the overall didn’t really gave me that impact. I don’t know. But it is still a solid take to say the least. 7

1. TRENT HARMON
Waiting Game

– Stunning! 9.5

Leave a Reply

