The Voice UK 5: Semi-Finals

It is that fast! I’m telling you we are now one week left from crowning a new The Voice UK champ. Tonight, from 8 the contestants will be trimmed to 4 that will battle it out to next week’s finale. All in the hands of the public.

So how did the night went? I thought most brought their A-game tonight. And I enjoyed most performances.

8. LYRICKAL
See You Again
Team WILL

– It’s just impossible for Lyrickal to sing on tune no? 3

7. LYDIA LUCY
I’ll Be There
Team WILL

– While the rap verse reminded me of Cher Lloyd style, her thin tone is just grating at somepoint and the song choice is terrible. 4

6. VANGELIS
Beautiful
Team BOY GEORGE

– I love me self some Vangelis but the dark take on this song somehow left me in both sides. I thought Vangelis sounded beautiful but the wholeness of the performance kinda left me cold. 6.5

5. JORDAN GRAY
Dancing In The Dark
Team PALOMA

– Jordan is an interesting piece. She can sing but the theatrics should be tone down. But I still think this was solid. I like her vocals here. 7

4. HEATHER CAMERON – HAYES
Sorry
Team PALOMA

– Her take on “Sorry” is very reminiscent of probably what Birdy would do. Her tone fluorishes the song and there is a sense of ownness to it that I like. Her melodic choices were interesting and the overall was lovely. 7

3. KEVIN SIMMS
Rolling In The Deep
Team RICKY

– Fantastic vocals! Kevin can sing the phonebook. I thought we are back with him again and his solid vocals proved why he’s been a front runner since his audition – aside from the well hyped audition. Haha. 8

2. CODY FROST
The Chain
Team BOY GEORGE

– She’s back! Cody lost it in there but I love it! It was natural, consistent and lovely. The liberties she took were good and she just laid all in the line. 8

1. JOLAN
Purple Rain
Team RICKY

– Oh Jolan! He is giving Kevin Simms a run for his money but more so, I thought he was the most consistent contestant this season. Purple Rain was a nice and solid choice for him. It sounded current, fresh and vocally fantastic! 8.5

PUBLIC’S VOTE FOR TOP 4 FINALE
Kevin Simms (Team Ricky)
Jolan (Team Ricky)
Cody Frost (Team Boy George)
Lydia Lucy (Team Will)

Leave a Reply

