The Voice US 10: Semi-Finals

The Voice Season 10 Top 12

And the bloodbath happens tomorrow as the remaining 8 artists will be cut in half for next week’s season finale. While I thought that is such a tragic event, I am not complaining really for I thought everyone delivered really well.

So now, let us rank the semi-finalists:

[8] PAXTON INGRAM
I Would Do Anything For Love
Team BLAKE

– There are parts in this performance that sounded really good. But the vocals got a bit shaky in the middle and end. Still, I think this is a pretty decent showing from Paxton. 6

[7] BRYAN BAUTISTA
Hurt
Team CHRISTINA

– If only he stayed on the piano no? The first half was divine but the second half sounded a bit dragging and his notes got wobbly. 6.5

[6] LAITH AL-SAADI
One & Only
Team ADAM

– Wow. I didn’t expect this to be this good and the way Laith navigated his notes sounded terrific. The right amount of grit and the power he showed created a nice texture on his version of this Adele hit. 7

[5] SHALYAH FEARING
And I Am Telling You
Team ADAM

– I may be in the minority but I thought this sounded quite good for my taste. I like her texture here. Sure, some parts sounded problematic and the high registers sounded forced but I thought this is one of her better performances in the lives. 7

[4] MARY SARAH
I Told You So
Team BLAKE

– Two in a row. Mary showed her soft side but her tone never sounded this good. It was a terrific take with so much confidence, mellow and power. Lovely! 7.5

[3] ALISAN PORTER
Desperado
Team CHRISTINA

– Sure the runs sounded overdone but I don’t mind. Alisan delivered a beautiful, lovely vocal performance. Her vocals were controlled. Her phrasing is gorgeous. 8

[2] HANNAH HUSTON
When A Man Loves A Woman
Team PHARRELL

– Hannah has this quality of her voice that stands out on her own. It is very recognizable that anything she sings sounded like hers. Hannah navigated the performance with so much gusto. Her tone is beautiful. Her phrasing sounded divine. And her ad libs were lovely. 8

[1] ADAM WAKEFIELD
I’m Sorry
Team BLAKE

– Holy guacamole! This sounded better than Blake’s version. And this might have sealed him as a possible upset to Alisan Porter. The vocals here were solid and beautiful. I am impressed. 9

Leave a Reply

